Tim & Leah – final day

June 7, 2010 at 10:52 am 2 comments

T minus 1.5 hours. Yes, I am counting down the hours – not because I’m hungry though! Because I’m off work this week still and am incredibly bored. I’m excited to go hole myself up in my favourite coffee shop with my laptop for the afternoon and drink delicious, strong coffee. Before I show you a few photos of what Tim and I have been eating I wanted to discuss our experience with the project. Do we think this is a realistic amount of food for one week? Yes, a resounding yes. Tim and I both agreed that we could definitely do another week with it, and if we absolutely had to, another week and a half. There would be a lot of cereal meals and leftovers and no vegetables (and there would be no way we would be turning away free food at that point) but it would be doable.

For lunch yesterday it was a baked plantain and peanut butter sandwich, on delicious Safeway whole wheat bread (that we immediately stuck in the freezer so it would keep longer). We received a few Crystal Light packets so I had one with my sandwich.

For dinner we used the leftover ravioli sauce from yesterday’s meal and made a chili out of it. We got tons of soybeans in tomato sauce so we added a can, some cole slaw mix and chili flakes, with lots of salt and pepper and it was pretty good. Tim made potato wedges and I made garlic toast to go along and it was filling, and there are lots of leftovers from it as well.

So, this is Leah signing out for the last time – but this won’t be the end of Tim & Leah food blogging. I didn’t expect to have so much fun this week! I also didn’t expect Tim to get so invested in it, but he did. He would come home from work and the first thing he would ask is “Did you put up a blog today? Did we get any comments? Did people like my food?” It has been such a positive experience for him to not only be able to work towards an awareness campaign for a good cause, but for him to be able to share his creativity and passion with the world. So thank you to the Calgary Interfaith Food Bank and Husky Energy for the opportunity, and thank you to everybody who is reading this and who has supported the participants this week.

Entry filed under: Leah. Tags: .

Sunday Dinner update Last supper and beyond – Darren and Jen

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lara  |  June 7, 2010 at 11:32 am

    I have loved following along with this project Leah, and I hope to participate in one like it someday, though I am sure my meals will lack the gusto that the AMAZING Tim has to provide!!!

    Tim should definitely guest spot on your blog, and do some great cooking blogs, he is incredible from what i can see!!

    Reply
  • 2. Micaela  |  June 7, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Leah maybe you and Tim could put together some sort of challenge, decide on some ingredients people have to live off of for a week, create a blog and let anyone participate and blog about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

