Darren and Jen – Our week ahead

May 31, 2010 at 3:07 pm Leave a comment

To be honest – I’m nervous.

Jen has her reservations because she’s nearly 7 months pregnant, wondering if we’ll have the food we need to make sure our babe stays healthy.  With her teaching pre-school and coaching gymnastics at night and me working as the managing editor of Metro News, we rarely have time to prepare meals – because we often order in, or go out to eat.  This week will be a wake up call. We will be preparing the food we have for breakfast, lunch and dinner with the food from the hamper.

I mean, it’s not as though we don’t enjoy cooking – we just don’t have a lot of time to do it.  But, this week things will change.

I’m excited to be a part of this project, to raise awareness about the challenges faced by the families who are served by the Calgary Foodbank.  I hope we can raise the awareness of this project, so people get a first-hand account of what all of the participants are going through.

Jen and I have been wanting to find the right way to start making a difference in our community – not yet finding the right fit for us.  This, after some discussion, appears to be the first step into what will likely become further community service. Let’s see where it leads!

I’m looking forward to the week ahead.  I enjoy cooking and I’m going to see how many different combinations of meals I can come up with, with just the supplies in the food bank.  It will be tough to juggle – no doubt.  But, with any luck, we’ll learn some humility, enjoy the experience of cooking together, and come out with a better sense of what’s important to us.

Today is the launch of the program – and the pick up of the hamper.  Do I have trepidation? …uh, yah.  Like I said from the top – I’m nervous.

But – here’s to a week of growth.  Check back soon.

D..

Entry filed under: Darren.

Michelle Julie, Mike and Willem – thinking inside the box.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed