Here we go …

May 31, 2010 at 4:14 pm Leave a comment

A few hours before heading down to the Calgary Interfaith Food Bank to pick up my hamper I can’t help but dwell on my preconceived notions of what will be inside.

Will I be eating soup every day? (Mushroom isn’t bad) What about cans of beets and creamed corn? (I really don’t like those) Will there be beer? (Probably not but finger’s crossed) What about fresh fruits and veggies? (Hopefully).

I’m used to eating healthy and, as a single guy in his mid-30s, have grown accustomed to being able to afford the foods I want so this will be an adjustment. But it will also be an eye-opening experience. I don’t shop with a list, or a budget really. I pretty much buy what I want. Unfortunately, hundreds of people in Calgary don’t have that luxury and have to rely on the generosity of others. I’m hoping this experience will give me some insight into what they go through week-in and week-out. I’m also hoping to learn a new recipe or two (that doesn’t call for beets or creamed corn).

So, with an open mind and an empty stomach, I begin.

Dave

Entry filed under: Dave.

Julie, Mike and Willem – thinking inside the box. Kristen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


