Kristen

May 31, 2010 at 8:00 pm Leave a comment

I work for the Calgary Food Bank and will be participating as a single – my partner is out of town most of the week anyway, but I’m sure whatever I decide to make for dinner tonight with my hamper contents, that he will be more than happy to have a sample.

I’m actually looking forward to participating in “A Week in Their Kitchen”, I’m probably more nervous about blogging, since writing about my personal experience is not something I usually feel compelled to do. This is an opportunity that I had committed to doing quietly for myself when the idea came up, an experience that I thought I should have to gain some insight and perspective.

When people ask me what it’s like to work for the Food Bank and if it is difficult to see the need in our community, my response has always been that I feel we provide the best possible service, from the items we provide in the hampers to the compassion our volunteers show for our clients. I have the opportunity to see the effort we put in each day and I truly believe we are bringing some positive into people’s lives. I also always say that if I were to ever find myself needing a hand up, I couldn’t think of a better place to turn to. This is not to say that it’s not difficult to be reminded of the need in our community – it is and there are days when the need truly astonishes me.

At this point I have a plan because I have the advantage on knowing (more or less) what I will be going home with for groceries for the week. I guess I’ll see how far this plan will take me.

Entry filed under: Kristen.

Here we go … Getting adjusted…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


