Hamper Day +1: Darren and Jen

June 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm 1 comment

I just finished lunch, and between keeping up with a breaking news story and figuring out where to slot today’s news, I’m penning the latest installment of a Week in Their Kitchen.

Lunch (Darren’s Surprise – recipe posted below) was good.  It simmered in the crockpot overnight and turned out quite tasty.  I’ll have no problem eating it again tonight for dinner (or tomorrow for lunch) and still likely have some leftovers.

Here is one of my challenges, and it’s two-fold: I like to snack.  Not unhealthy snack – but eat four or five small meals a day.  Tough to do when you have to ration food to make solid meals to help you get through the week.  Second – I eat/snack when I want, normally.  That’s not realistic when you are trying to ration.

Another is the stark realization that I’m not REALLY eating anything I like.  The bubble gum flavoured pudding made my mouth numb (snack 1, before lunch) and I really wanted a snack last night, but found nothing appealing.  But – as Brooke has pointed out, Calgary Food Bank clients don’t get to pick and choose, and are often happy someone is there to lending a helping hand.

@Kait_Dee refers to it as “foodsnobbery” – maybe living in relative opulence, and not worrying about where my next meal is coming from has turned me into something of a food snob.  You need only read my previous posts to see that I’m looking a gift-horse in the mouth, and turning my nose up at some of the food – simply because I don’t typically eat it.

Food Bank clients don’t have a choice.  You don’t either, Darren.  I need to stop being such a princess and figure out how to put together decent meals for Jen and I.

I’m going to take better stock tonight of my supplies – and come up with something good.  I’ll probably post recipe, with pic and more thoughts later tonight.

You can also follow my Week in Their Kitchen adventures in real time by following me on Twitter.

D..

Entry filed under: Darren.

Dave — breakfast Day 1 And so it begins for Tim and Leah …

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dinnerwithjulie  |  June 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I got to interview Barbara Kingsolver (!!) last year, and she mentioned living in a society where we ask ourselves what we feel like having for dinner, rather than what’s available. She was speaking in terms of local and seasonal – but it applies here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


