Hamper Day +2 Darren and Jen

June 2, 2010 at 12:25 pm Leave a comment

OK – so Darren’s Surprise gave my poor, pregnant fiancee a nasty case of heartburn… you know how pregnant women can be. 🙂

Other than that, she said it was tasty and dutifully filled her bowl for lunch again today.  Such a trooper.

Last night we (I) got lazy and went with a can of beans and some wieners. It’s not bad, especially considering that we’d eat beans on toast or beans like this on any given night – but we could have made something.  But, with Jen not getting home until 9 p.m. and me working until at least that time – both at work and at home – you can clearly see why we order in, or make easy foods.

I won’t lie – this is tough for us.  I’m glad I made Darren’s Surprise the first night – or we’d be pooched. We’ve got to come up with something better that utilizes more of the ingredients. Tonight.  Tonight.  Always tonight.

Also, I should say that I downed about 12 Oreo cookies (and I’m still training for a triathlon here!) because all of the other snack foods in my house were off limits: pickles, pretzels, cheese and crackers, the tray of strawberries in the fridge… so I had a cookie.  Then I had more cookies.  Then a rush of childhood nostalgia took over and I just grabbed a bloody handful and said: “What the heck – it’s only for a week.”

But – I could be doing better.  I’m just lazy when it comes to food.  Lazy because we find that it’s easier and more convenient to order in or go out for meals. We eat healthy – we do – but we choose our foods carefully and we choose what we want.

Clients of the food bank don’t have that luxury. They need to plan their meals; they need to ration their food; they make do with what they have and they make the best of it.  The clients are thankful. I complain.

Something about this isn’t right.

I owe it to the challenge to see what I can do with the food provided. That’s the challenge Calgary Food Bank clients face every day.

Let’s put a new recipe together tonight.

D..

Entry filed under: Darren.

Dave – Day 2 Tim and Leah, Day 2 – Lunch & Dinner

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


