Hamper Day +2 Dinner – Darren and Jen

June 2, 2010 at 8:58 pm Leave a comment

Me: So, what do you think?

Jen: (gag) I don’t really like it.

Me: Oh. OK.

Jen: I may not like it. But I’m going to eat it.

OK – I thought it was tasty.  It was Beef and Broccoli and a Caesar salad.  For those of you who may have seen the picture on Twitter probably know the only thing on the plate that resembled that meal name was the salad.  It was Beef and Broccoli – but the beef was wieners and the broccoli was substituted for large slices of red pepper.  The real deal was the mix packet for beef and broccoli that I found in the hamper. Here’s the recipe:

6 hot dogs (sliced up)

2 Red peppers (sliced into large chunks)

1 TBSP of Montreal Steak Spice (one of my chosen three spices)

1 cup of water, with the beef and broccoli mix.  I wasn’t able to add the required soy sauce, nor the diced onion for the mix.

1 TBSP butter – to precook the wieners and peppers (recipe calls for oil, but I had none)

Basic idea is to briefly cook the red peppers and wieners in a saucepan with the butter and the TBSP of steak spice. Then add in the beef and broccoli mix.  Stir and bring to a soft boil in about 2 or 3 minutes.  Serve.

I didn’t have anything to serve as a bed for it (I only have potatoes as a starch), and I thought pasta was overkill.

I like beef and broccoli.  This just didn’t end up being beef and broccoli. Too many clashing flavours. Sweet peppers, salty wieners… and a tasteless mix sauce.

So, as I mentioned in my post earlier today I promised I was going to find something that we could put together.  I see and hear of some of the ingredients in other hampers and I rifle through the goods from mine and don’t find the same things. After going through my goods, my limited culinary skills couldn’t find anything to put together a ‘gourmet’ meal.

Lesson one: Not all hampers are built the same.

While I have some really good singular foods, I don’t have any combo foods.  Except the package of spaghetti and some of the sauces. Or peanut butter and bread.  This is a challenge and forces me to really think outside the box when creating combination meals.

If I don’t have the items I need to cook – I normally go to the supermarket to buy them.  Calgary Food Bank clients don’t necessarily have that option and they make do with what’s included in the hamper.  They may have a few odds and ends they can use to make things work – but not always.

Me (to Jen): Sorry the meal didn’t taste very good tonight.

Jen:  It’s OK.

Me: OK.

Jen: Just because I didn’t like it, it doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the fact you made dinner for me.

That, in itself, meant everything.

Talk to you again soon.

D..

Entry filed under: Darren.

Feeling empty in the fruit bowl. Michelle – Day 2 and 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


