Uninspired. Humbled.

June 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm 1 comment

First: Uninspired.

Today was a long one. Kitchen was clean and there were leftovers – still are for lunch tomorrow. But I knew I had to zip home from work, let the pups out, clean up after the pups and then get to the Food Bank to pick up my missing pasta (more on that next). And then I had to zip back home because the two foster puppies was suddenly going to be four foster puppies. A new record for us. This is a full house: 2 resident cats, 1 resident dog, 2 of us, and now 2 + 2 foster puppies.

So, not wanting to break into the precious gnocchi (reserved for lunches), I settled on 1 of the 4 cans of tomato soup (ate half), coleslaw and a toasted hamburger bun. Did the job, but very uninspired. But nutritious enough.

Second: Humbled.

The pasta. I arranged to get the car and drove back to get the pasta. This was a different experience from Monday’s pick-up as I wasn’t (as) expected. The parking lot was full and there were four vehicles ahead of me trying to get a parking permit and get into the lot. Everyone coming after work to get their hamper. Brooke told me just to go up to the window and ask for the pasta – it would be set aside for me. But I saw the line and couldn’t think of a good reason why I shouldn’t also have to wait in it. As I waited, I noticed more children than Monday. A man behind me commented that the hockey game wasn’t on the TV in the lobby – Flyers were winning though, he told me. And there was a man packing up a suitcase and some reusable bags in the corner – preparing to wrestle his hamper onto transit. That’s tough. He turned away a few items – I’m not sure if they didn’t fit in his bags, or if he doesn’t eat beef (hot dogs). Sympathy – I usually take the bus, and on days like that, it stinks.

Thought crosses my mind – do I offer? Where’s he going? Should I? Would he trust me? Do it. And thus the beginning of a great conversation.

He’s a recent immigrant and works TWO jobs; he’s learning English, but now can’t study because he has to work the two jobs and his work schedules conflict with his class schedule. He’s practiced (unfortunately) in the trip via transit to the Food Bank. His next hamper will be his last if I understood correctly. He’s looking for a Canadian mentor/tutor/conversation partner – check out the various immigrant services in Calgary – I bet there are many more people like him looking for conversation.

I appreciated the conversation. I hope he did too.

Entry filed under: Calgary Food Bank, Erin.

Michelle – Day 2 and 3 Mike, Julie & Willem, Day 3: Creamy Mushroom Rotini

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dinnerwithjulie  |  June 2, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this! Wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


