Mike, Julie & Willem Day 5: Day-glo Mushroom Helper

June 4, 2010 at 7:52 pm Leave a comment


What kind of wine does one pair with dayglo powdered cheese? WHAT, THERE’S NO WINE IN MY HAMPER? I didn’t think of that.

Ah well, it’s a working weekend for me anyway. Best to just hunker down with my Oreos and forget that it’s Friday night. And it’s sunny out. Let’s not talk about that.

Dinner tonight was not as thrilling as last night’s. Mike actually got into the mission and came up with the idea to use sauteed mushrooms, which are meaty-like, in the package of generic Hamburger Helper. W stuck to Cheerios.

As I sat glumly eating my salty orange mushroom pasta it occurred to me that PEOPLE ACTUALLY BUY THIS STUFF. It’s imported by Wal-Mart. They sell it in their stores. It isn’t eaten exclusively by people who have no choice – many folks out there actually go shopping and spend their own dollars on this.

Maybe they’re all eighteen? I remember when Mike and I first moved out I lived for a good couple years on Pop Tarts, Eggo Waffles and Hamburger Helper Cheeseburger Macaroni – all the stuff we weren’t allowed to have growing up. So then I started to grow out.

And yes, it’s cheap. So are beans. And rice. And barley. And a thousand or so other real meals I can price out in my head in the same ballpark as Hamburger Helper.

I have to cut this post short – I’m crashing down from my Oreo high.

Entry filed under: Julie.

Dave — Day 4 Delicious Saturday Evening Meal

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


