A Morning with Leah

June 5, 2010 at 8:25 pm 3 comments

Today was the Hunger Heroes Food Drive across the city of Calgary.

This morning Leah was supposed to do a segment live on location at a Husky station to promote the food drive and the blog. Unfortunately the weather was against us, with lightening striking within 5km of the remote location Global was unable to do the broadcast.

Since I had already picked Leah up to go to the location, we decided to make the best of the morning and film a special video blog for all of you.

Entry filed under: Calgary Food Bank.

Delicious Saturday Evening Meal Time to catch up – Darren and Jen

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A Little Coffee  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Leah – this is so cool. What an amazing experience and it sounds like you’ve brought a lot of attention to the issue. Was this strictly a Calgary promotion? Do you know if there’s anything I can do to organize something like this for Vancouver? If you have any info I’d love you to email me, I’d be really interested in trying to set this up here.

    Reply
    • 2. calgaryfoodbank  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:26 pm

      Hi Laura,

      I can help you out with that. I did all the organizing here in Calgary. You can contact me by email with any questions you have about setting it up. bhunter@calgaryfoodbank.com

      Reply
  • 3. Natalie  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Good work, Leah! I can vouch that Leah and Tim were totally committed to this week…Leah even served me some plantain chips…a new expierence for me!!
    I refer clients to the foodbank on a weekly basis, and oftentimes they are hesitant to access this resource or complain about the food they receive. From Leah and Tim’s experience, as well as picking up hampers with the families I work with, I get to see how much food comes in those hampers! Not only the amount of food, but the quality was suprising for me too – milk, veggies, fruit, eggs. It will be extremely valuable for me to be able to personally relate to my families and share what useful items have come in hampers I have seen. It was also neat to see things like olive oil and peanut butter provided – these are staples for most households, and can really give a family in need relief in grocery bills. Good work, you two!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


