Dave — final thoughts

June 7, 2010 at 5:25 pm Leave a comment

Looking back on my week of eating out of an emergency food hamper, two thoughts come to mind.

First, if I never see another plantain, that will still be too soon.

And second, the Calgary Interfaith Food Bank does an amazing job of providing for those in need.  I mean that sincerely. I’m just one person who used one hamper, which had everything I needed and more. Volunteers at the Food Bank provide thousands of those each year.

Throughout the week, I felt the frustration of seeing my friends and co-workers enjoying lunch or dinner while I went without. But in the back of my mind, I knew that my situation would end after seven days and I had to do was tough it out. The people who truly need the Food Bank don’t have that luxury. For them, making ends meet is a constant, daily struggle. 

Coming into this experiment, I talked about my preconceived notions of what would be in my hamper, whether I would like it and how much it would differ from what I was used to. But as the week went on, I realized that’s not what people who have to turn to the Food Bank are focused on. For them, it’s a matter of need. What you’re used to is irrelevant when you’re a single parent with a hungry kid.

I think I can honestly say I now appreciate, even if it’s just a little more, the fact I’m able to buy the foods I want. Not everyone is as lucky. And in a way, it was humbling for me. The only thing separating me from most of those people is a couple of paycheques.

That why I’ve decided to donate $100 to the Calgary Interfaith Food Bank — about what I’d spend on groceries and meals in a week. And when I do bring cans of food to fundraisers and donation drives in the future, it won’t be creamed corn or kidney beans. I’ll give what I’d want to get. After all, shouldn’t we treat all people the way we ourselves want to be treated?

And one piece of advice for the volunteers putting the hampers together … avoid the bubblegum pudding (blech) stick with butterscotch, chocolate or vanilla instead 🙂

Entry filed under: Calgary Food Bank.

#WeekInTheirKitchen is wrapping up, but the work continues Final Analysis – Darren and Jen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


