Last supper and beyond – Darren and Jen

June 7, 2010 at 11:53 am Leave a comment

Sunday is typically a busy day for me.  Aside from putting out a Monday newspaper, I do work from home that day, and chores beckon.

Lawn-mowing, flower bed weeding, dog-walking and the like – and I wanted to come up with a creative concoction for my final Week in Their Kitchen meal.

It made use of a number of the different ingredients I had in my hamper – and nothing that many of us wouldn’t find in our own kitchens on a regular basis. I called it – Potato Tuna Florentine cakes (it’s a rip-off from Leah… I think).  Here’s the recipe:

  • 6 Potatoes diced up
  • 1 can of tuna
  • 1 packet of chicken noodle soup mix
  • 2 TBSP of butter
  • Leftover pasta sauce (in this case it was Spinach and cheese florentine)
  • A couple of shakes of Montreal Steak Spice

Quite a simple recipe.  Boil up the potatoes in the chicken noodle soup mix (rather than water) until they are relatively soft. Then, mash them up with a little butter and add the steak spice.  Mash until desired consistency is achieved.

Use either oil or butter to grease up a muffin tin and preheat the oven to 400 F. Fill tins about 3/4 full and then use a teaspoon to spread out the mashed potato, just enough to put a dollop of leftover pasta sauce. Put in the oven when it dings… 🙂

They’ll have to cook about 35 minute in order for the bottoms to firm up (wish that happened when I cook… but I digress).  Watch the tops to make sure they don’t blacken too much.  And you should end up with this:

I thought they tasted awesome, and I had a hard time not licking the bowl of mashed potatoes clean.  This recipe makes about a dozen cakes, and I’d say that three of them are reasonable-sized meal, with a couple of other vegetables or a meat.

Jen returned from her gymnastics meet and took it for lunch today – and we’ll see how they go over with her. Thanks Jen, for sticking with the program when you got back home!

I brought them for lunch again today, too.  Even though I am holding a photo seminar for reporters and ordering pizza for them.  I am committed… But it ends after lunch.

Lots to reflect on and lots of questions to ask before I have a final post.  But, I’ll have something later tonight or tomorrow.

Until then.

D..

Entry filed under: Darren.

Tim & Leah – final day Mike, Julie & Willem Day 7: Plantain Fritters

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calgary Food Bank’s Twitter Feed


